Philae lander gets 'Go' for comet landing

First human attempt to land on a comet.

The lander is scheduled to touch down on the comet at 10:35 am EST (7:35 am PST) on Wednesday, Nov. 12.

It will take Philae 7 hours to descend to the comet's surface - one of the most difficult maneuvers we've ever tried in space. For the scientists at the ESA and NASA - it will be 7 hours of terror.
Here's a handy infographic showing the steps of Philae's 7-hour descent, starting at 9:03 GMT (4:03 am EST) until the end, when Philae lands, at around 16:00 GMT (11:00 am EST). These events will actually take place about 27 minutes before we hear about them on Earth because comet 67P/Churyumox-Gerasimenko is roughly 300 million miles from us










NASA's Orion capsule is on its way to a Cape Canaveral launch pad.





ISS - Soyuz TMA-13M Touches Down After 6 Month Mission





Future of combat aerospace in Europe.



Reactions:

Post a Comment Blogger Disqus

 
 
Top